MCSEF Awards 13 Evelyn Krueger Jones Scholarships

13 members of the Class of 2021 will each receive a $650 Evelyn Krueger Jones Scholarship from the Madison Central School Educational Foundation. These students graduated with a 4.0 or greater grade point average, which qualified them to receive this scholarship. They are: Tyler Wardner and Callie Frantzen, who will attend the SD School of Mines and Technology; Allison Bruns and Emily Van Liere, who will attend South Dakota State University; Abby Brooks, who will attend Northern State University; Colby Briggs, who will attend North Dakota State College of Science; Truman Stoller, who will attend University of Nebraska-Lincoln; Isabel Gors, who will attend Southeast Tech; Megan Bierschbach and Allison Sahr, who will attend University of South Dakota; Caleb Scott, who will attend University of Sioux Falls; Kelsey O’Connell, who will attend Black Hills State University; and Marissa Jencks, who will attend University of Minnesota.

Renae Prostrollo, MCSEF Director commented: “This year, over $35,000 in scholarship money was awarded to members of the Class of 2021 through the generous support of our scholarship donors. These graduates should be very proud of their accomplishments.”

Evelyn Krueger was a member of the Madison High School Class of 1930. After graduation, she obtained her teaching certificate at Eastern State Normal School and taught for one year in Junius. She earned a B.S. degree in library science from George Peabody College in Nashville, Tennessee, and a B.S. in nursing from Yale University. Evelyn married Frank Jones and settled in Delaware where she worked as a teacher, librarian and nurse there and in Washington, D.C. Three years after her husband’s death in 1996, Mrs. Jones moved to Bethel Lutheran Home in Madison, where she passed away on September 28, 2001. The couple had no children and were philanthropic, giving back to their communities to support causes they felt were important, such as higher education.

The Madison Central School Educational Foundation was one of the recipients of the couple’s philanthropy. The Evelyn K. Jones Endowment’s earnings are used to fund these scholarships in her name. Dr. John Sweet, former District Superintendent, credited Evelyn Jones’ generous gift as being the impetus that really got the Educational Foundation going. The MCSEF has awarded 131 Evelyn K. Jones Scholarships since 2004.

Picture- front row (l to r): Truman Stoller, Isabel Gors, Allison Sahr, Kelsey O’Connell, Megan Bierscbach BACK row (l to r): Colby Briggs, Tyler Wardner, Caleb Scott, Emily Van Liere, Allison Bruns, Callie Frantzen & Foundation Director Renae Prostrollo Not Pictured: Marissa Jencks & Abby Brooks

Stay Connected:

Madison Education Foundation © 2024. Developed by Intuvio Solutions.