Foundation Awards Evelyn K. Jones Scholarships

Foundation Awards Evelyn K. Jones Scholarships Ten MHS graduates will each receive $792.11 Evelyn Jones Scholarships from the Madison Central School Educational Foundation. They are Jackson Richards, who will attend Concordia College; Coley Stoller and Kathryn Eliason, who will attend Augustana College; Jessica Schultz, Samantha Swenson and Amy Knofszynski, who will attend South Dakota State University; Rush Milne, who will attend University of South Dakota; Erin Lemair, who will attend Minnesota State University Moorhead; and Haley Hansen and Jacob Giles, who will attend Dakota State University. These MHS seniors graduated with a 4.0 or greater grade point average which qualified them to each receive an Evelyn Krueger Jones Scholarship.

Evelyn Krueger was a member of the Madison High School Class of 1930. After graduation, she obtained her teaching certificate at Eastern State Normal School and taught for one year in Junius. She earned a B.S. degree in library science from George Peabody College in Nashville, Tennessee and a B.S. in nursing from Yale University. Evelyn married Frank Jones and settled in Delaware where she worked as a teacher, librarian and nurse there and in Washington, D.C. Three years after her husband’s death in 1996, Evelyn’s failing health caused her to move to Bethel Lutheran Home in Madison, where she passed away on September 28, 2001.

The Madison Central School District was named one of the recipients of Jones Estate with the interest from investing the funds to be used for scholarships administered by the MCS Educational Foundation.

Stay Connected:

Madison Education Foundation © 2019. Developed by Intuvio Solutions.